Oral Medicine Faculty, Residents Play Key Roles at World Workshop, Recogized by AAOM


Former and current faculty members and residents of the Department of Oral Medicine at the World Workshop of Oral Medicine and AAOM Annual Meeting.

Philadelphia — Faculty and residents from Penn Dental Medicine’s Department of Oral Medicine played key roles in the 6th World Workshop of Oral Medicine and were recognized with a number of awards at the 68th Annual Meeting of the American Academy of Oral Medicine (AAOM), both held in Orlando, Fla., April 6 to 12, 2014.

Convened every four years, the World Workshop of Oral Medicine is an international conference of invited oral medicine experts who gather to analyze pertinent topics related to the discipline. Ninety participants representing 26 countries were involved in this World Workshop with Penn Dental Medicine faculty serving in both key advisory and leadership roles. Dr. Martin Greenberg, Professor Emeritus, Department of Oral Medicine, was a member of the Steering Committee; Dr. Thomas Sollecito, Chair and Professor of Oral Medicine, served as a section head; and Dr. Eric Stoopler, Associate Professor of Oral Medicine, served as a consultant. In addition, Penn Dental Medicine oral medicine residents Dr. Ghada Al Zamel (GD’14) and Dr. Chizobam Idahosa (GD’14) also participated in the World Workshop as an assistant reviewer and an observer, respectively.

And at this year’s Annual Meeting of the AAOM, reportedly the largest international gathering of oral medicine practitioners ever held, Dr. Greenberg received two awards — the AAOM’s Certificate of Merit Award and the Organization of Teachers of Oral Diagnosis Award — in recognition of his outstanding contributions to the Academy and his educational contributions to the discipline of oral medicine, respectively. Dr. Sunday Akintoye, Associate Professor, Department of Oral Medicine, received an AAOM Certificate of Merit Award as well, and three residents were also recognized with awards — Dr. Temitope Omolehinwa (GD’14) received the Lester Burket Award (Basic Science) for her research on jaw osteonecrosis (mentored by Dr. Akintoye), and Case Report Awards were presented to both Dr. Al Zamel (GD’14, mentored by Dr. Eric Stoopler of Oral Medicine) and Dr. Idahosa (G’14, mentored by Dr. Sollecito and Dr. Faizan Alawi, Associate Professor of Pathology).

In addition, Dr. Stoopler was re-elected to serve as Secretary, as a member of the Executive Committee and Board of Trustees of the AAOM, and as Chair of the Program Directors Committee for Oral Medicine Postdoctoral Programs in North America. And, Dr. Sollecito was elected to serve as Treasurer of the American Board of Oral Medicine (ABOM) and was re-elected as a Director for the ABOM.