Faculty Members Being Recognized by AAOM


Dr. Eric Stoopler, Associate Professor of Oral Medicine, and Dr. Tom Sollecito, Professor and Chair of Oral Medicine

Philadelphia – Two members of Penn Dental Medicine’s Department of Oral Medicine are being recognized for their contributions to the field by the American Academy of Oral Medicine (AAOM). Dr. Thomas Sollecito, Professor and Chair, Department of Oral Medicine, is the 2015 recipient of the AAOM’s Abraham Reiner Diamond Pin Award, and Dr. Eric Stoopler, Associate Professor of Oral Medicine and Director of the Oral Medicine Residency Program, is this year’s recipient of the Herschfus Memorial Award.

The Abraham Reiner Diamond Pin Award – the highest award presented by the AAOM– recognizes unusual, exceptional, and dedicated service to the Academy. Dr. Sollecito, who has been a member of the AAOM since 1991, served as President AAOM Board of Trustees in 2010 and remains an active member of the Board.

The Herschfus Memorial Award recognizes both service to the AAOM and the field of oral medicine. Dr. Stoopler, who presently serves as Secretary of the Academy, has been a member of the AAOM since 1999. He also serves on the Executive Committee, is a member of the Board of Trustees and is the Chair of the Program Directors Committee, comprised of all accredited oral medicine residency programs in North America.

Both Dr. Sollecito and Dr. Stoopler earned their DMD degrees and postdoctoral certificates in oral medicine from Penn Dental Medicine and have been on the school’s oral medicine faculty since 1993 and 2002, respectively.

The awards will be presented at the AAOM Annual Meeting in San Diego, Calif., on April 24, 2015. The AAOM, founded in 1945, is a membership organization representing the discipline of oral medicine. The Academy is a sponsor of the American Board of Oral Medicine, which is responsible for examining and certifying candidates who have received approved postdoctoral training in the specialty