Penn Dental Medicine 2017 Teaching Awards


The award recipients with members of the Class of 2017.

Philadelphia – Penn Dental Medicine faculty/staff members were honored for excellence in teaching by the School’s graduating class with the 2017 teaching awards. Each year, these awards are presented by students as part of the Senior Farewell, an annual event that celebrates the passage of students to professional dentistry and welcomes them into the Penn Dental Medicine Alumni Society. This year’s event was held May 9 at The Bellevue in Center City Philadelphia. The awards and recipients included the following:

The Basic Science Award – presented for excellence in teaching within the basic sciences. This year’s recipient is Dr. Eric Stoopler (D’99, GD’02), Associate Professor of Oral Medicine and Director of the Postdoctoral Oral Medicine Program. Dr. Stoopler earned both his DMD and certificate in oral medicine at Penn Dental Medicine and has been a member of the faculty since 2002. Dr. Stoopler was Course Director of Principles of Medicine and is currently Course Director of Biological Systems VI. He was previously recognized for his teaching with Penn’s Lindback Award for Distinguished Teaching in 2013 and the Martin S. Greenberg Teaching Award in Oral Medicine in 2016.

The Robert E. DeRevere Award – presented for excellence in preclinical teaching by a part-time faculty member. The award is named in honor of Dr. DeRevere, a member of the Penn Dental Medicine Class of 1945, who served on the School’s faculty. This year’s recipient is Dr. Joy Bockstein Abt (D’94), Clinical Assistant Professor of Restorative Dentistry and Course Director of Fixed Prosthodontics. From 2001 to 2004, Dr. Abt was Assistant Professor of Restorative Dentistry and Director of Operative Dentistry. She returned to the faculty in 2007 as Clinical Assistant Professor and was appointed Course Director of Fixed Prosthodontics in 2008. In addition to fixed prosthodontics, Dr. Abt also teaches in the first-year operative dentistry course, second-year complete removable dental prostheses and partial removable dental prostheses courses, and the third- and fourth-year restorative dentistry clinic. In 2012, Dr. Abt was the recipient of Penn Dental Medicine’s Award for Outstanding Service to Students. Dr. Abt also received the Robert E. DeRevere Award in 2013 and 2014.

The Joseph L. T. Appleton Award – presented to a part-time faculty/staff member for excellence in clinical teaching. This year’s recipient is Marianne Contino. Ms. Contino, a dental hygienist, has been instructing and lecturing students in the School’s predoctoral clinic since 2008, teaching dental hygiene techniques and preventive dental care. This is the second year in a row that she has received the Appleton Award. The Appleton Award is named in honor of Dr. Joseph Appleton, a 1914 alumnus of Penn Dental Medicine, who served as dean of the School from 1941 to 1951. The award was founded in 1979 by Dr. Abram Cohen, a member of the Class of 1923 and father of Dean Emeritus D. Walter Cohen, Class of 1950.

The Senior Outstanding Teaching Award – presented to a faculty/staff member who has gone beyond the scope of his/her responsibilities to significantly impact the class’s education at Penn Dental Medicine. This year Senior Outstanding Teaching Award was presented to Art Kofman, C.D.T. Quality Control Coordinator and the Office of Laboratory Affairs Supervisor for the clinical labs at the School. Mr. Kofman has been sharing his knowledge and expertise in dental lab work with students as a member of the School’s staff for the past 16 years. Among his responsibilities, he coordinates students’ lab work from the School to commercial laboratories and vice versa, guides dental students in lab-related technical issues, and provides hands-on assistance as needed for minor adjustments to dental appliances at a chair-side setting.

The Earle Bank Hoyt Award – presented for excellence in teaching to a faculty member who is a Penn Dental Medicine graduate. The award was established by a grateful patient in honor of Dr. Hoyt, a distinguished clinician and educator and member of the Class of 1918. This year’s recipient is Dr. Brian Ford (D’09, M’12, GD’15), Instructor in the Department of Oral & Maxillofacial Surgery/Pharmacology. Dr. Ford completed his DMD and Oral Surgery training at Penn Dental Medicine, joining the School’s faculty in 2016. Dr. Ford teaches students in the hospital setting as well as in the oral surgery clinic and he is a lecturer in the second year curriculum

Photo Gallery

[div class=’w-420′]