Department of Periodontics Presents Annual Student Awards


Philadelphia – Penn Dental Medicine’s Department of Periodontics recognized student achievement with its annual student awards ceremony, honoring both predoctoral and postdoctoral students for their work in the field of periodontics. The awards celebration was held April 29 at school.

“It’s a great pleasure to celebrate the hard work and dedication of our students with this annual event,” says Dr. Uri Hangorsky, Interim Chair of the Department of Periodontics, “and recognize their interest and commitment to patient care and research in the field periodontics.”

This year’s predoctoral awards and recipients include:

  • Abram Cohen Award in Periodontics, awarded to the senior who shows the greatest proficiency and knowledge in Periodontics — presented to Novin Pishevar, D’19.
  • Outstanding Dental Student in Implant Dentistry Award presented by the Academy of Osseointegration. This award recognizes the most deserving student who has shown commitment to education, research, and experience in dental implant dentistry — presented to Jung Ko, D’19.
  • American Academy of Periodontology award, given to a graduating student who has excelled in the field of periodontics — presented to Shira Butt, D’19.
  • Morris Bradin Award in Periodontics, given to a senior student who has undertaken & carried on original research related to Periodontics while attending the Penn Dental Medicine — presented to Christopher Lai, D’19.

The postdoctoral awards and recipients included: the Weisgold/Amsterdam Scholarship, presented to Dr. Laura Torrecillas (Periodontal Prosthesis 4th Year); the Chace Scholarship, presented to Dr. Sultan Alghaithi (Periodontics DScD 5th Year); and the Coslet Memorial Scholarship, presented to Adrien Hamedi-Sangsari (Periodontics-Orthodontics 4th Year).