Penn Dental Medicine

About Us

School Leadership » Advisory Boards

Members of Penn Dental Medicine’s Advisory Boards help define and implement the School’s strategic mission and goals. The boards include:

The Board of Overseers

Statement of Purpose

The Board of Overseers of Penn Dental Medicine provides volunteer leadership and maintains as its standing charge to embrace the overall mission of the School to be the preeminent leader in dental education. The board acts as an advisory resource for the Dean on matters of policy, direction, practice, and effectiveness, while stewarding the historic missions of both the School and the University. It supports the continuous achievement of excellence in matters of curricular development, clinical work, research, admissions, infrastructure, alumni relations, and public relations.

Each board member, selected for their commitment, expertise, and diversity of backgrounds, provides new insights and ideas to the leadership of the School. Each serves as a global ambassador by creating strategic connections and by communicating the School’s strengths and needs to all constituencies including students, faculty, alumni, parents, the dental profession, and corporate concerns, as well as to the University’s trustees, president, and provost. It is also the responsibility of each board member to play a leadership role in all fundraising efforts.

Board of Overseers Members
William W. M. Cheung, D’81, GD’82


Private Practice
Stanley M. Bergman, PAR ’02
Chairman, Chief Executive Officer, and President, Henry Schein, Inc.
Robert I. Schattner, D’48
Founder and Past President,
Sporicidin International
Richard Copell, D’80
Campaign Co-Chair,
Private Practice
David Tai-Man Shen, D’79, GD’81
Partner & President, OrthoWorks Dental Group, Calif.
William DeVizio, DDS
Vice President for Oral Care Research & Development at Colgate-Palmolive Company
Alfred L. Spencer, Jr.
Continuous Improvement Global Program Manager, DuPont
Matthew J. Doyle, PhD

Director and Senior Researcher,

Procter & Gamble Company Health Care Research Center
David S. Tarica, D’83
Campaign Co-Chair,
Private Practice
Patrik Eriksson Georges Tawil, DDS, DScod
Professor, Dept of Periodontology, St. Joseph University, Beirut, Lebanon
Madeline Monaco
Senior Director of Global Scientific and Professional Affairs,
Johnson & Johnson Consumer and Personal Products Worldwide
Umit Yigit, C’81, D’86
Lewis E. Proffitt, D’73, WG’80
Director of Dental Services Eastern Dental of Marlton, LLC
Robert Zou, WG’94
Founder and CEO, Arrail Dental Group

Back to Top

Ex officio Members
Martin D. Levin, D’72, GD’74
Chair, Penn Dental Medicine Dean’s Council
Lee Durst-Roisman, D’83

President, Penn Dental Medicine Alumni Society

Back to Top

The Dean’s Council

Dean’s Council Members
Martin D. Levin, D’72, GD’74
Glenn R. Oxner
President and Owner
Belmont Corporation
Robert Brody, C’80, D’84,
Private Practice
Howard Rosa, D’82
Private Practice
Joseph P. Fiorellini, DMD, DMSc Louis E. Rossman, D’75,GD’77

Private Practice
Clinical Professor of Endodontics
Joseph E. Gian-Grasso, C’67, D’71

Private Practice
Tara Sexton, D’88
Private Practice
Elliot Hersh, DMD, MS, PhD David Silver, D’85, GD’86, GD’88

Back to Top

Alumni Society Executive Committee

The mission of the Penn Dental Medicine Alumni Society is to advance the interests of Penn Dental Medicine and the Alumni Society, and to promote good fellowship among all members of the School community. Led by an Executive Committee, the Alumni Society takes an active role in encouraging students to be active in the life of the School and remain engaged as alumni through events such as the White Coat Ceremony andSenior Farewell,

The Alumni Society also encourages the participation of alumni in the Dental Annual Giving Fund and other fund-raising initiatives. The generosity and commitment of alumni ensures that Penn remains at the forefront of dental education and makes a difference to the people who count on it the most – students. All predoctoral, postdoctoral, and dental hygiene alumni are members of the Penn Dental Medicine Alumni Society.

Alumni Society Executive Committee Members
Lee B. Durst-Roisman D’83
Robert E. Weiner, C’72 D’79
First Vice-President
Bernard W. Kurek, D’73 WMP’03 WEV’04
Second Vice-President
Judith Zack Bendit DH’81 Hope Berman C’77 D’83
Stefani L. Cheung C’08 D’11 Gail Spiegel Cohen C’76 D’80
Kimberly A. Farrell D’11 Paul Feldman, D’83
Charlene Fenster, DH’75 Catherine Foote, C’00 D’04 GD’06
Marshall J. Goldin, C’60 D’64 Dan Han, D’07 GD’11
Sam S. Kadan D’95 Alisa G. Kauffman D’85
Elena Kurtz, D’04 GD’06 Jeff Li D’12
Riddhi Patel D’13 Michael B. Rulnick, D’74 GD’76
Matt Ryskalzyck D’13 Donald H. Silverman, D’73 WG’74
Thomas L. Snyder, D’71, WG’74 Matt Sones, D’12
Robert Marc Stern, D’87 Elana Walker, GD’09 GD’10
Robert E. Weiner, C’72 D’79 Edwin J. Zimmet D’70
Past Presidents (Last 7 Years)
Keith D. Libou, D’84 Spencer-Carl Saint Cyr, D’97
Tara Sexton, D’88 Marc B. Ackerman, D’98
Anna Kornbrot, D’79, GD’82 Lewis E. Proffitt, D’73, WG’80
Margrit M. Maggio, D’87 Laurence G. Chacker, D’85
Michael D. Yasner, C’79, D’83, GD’84, GD’86  
Ex Officio Member
Jaclyn M. Gleber, DH’74

Back to Top

The Robert Schattner Center
University of Pennsylvania
School of Dental Medicine
240 South 40th Street
Philadelphia, PA 19104-6030