Coronavirus (COVID-19) Information and Resources

Information on the impact of coronavirus (COVID-19) on patient care and School/University operations. Plus, resources for the Penn Dental Medicine community and alumni.

IADR/IAP Establishes Research Award Honoring Legacy of Ricardo Teles

August 3, 2018

The recently established award recognizes the many contributions Dr. Ricardo Teles made to the field of clinical periodontal research.

Philadelphia – A new research award has been established by the International Academy of Periodontology (IAP) and offered through the International Association for Dental Research (IADR) Periodontal Research Group (PRG), recognizing the many contributions of Dr. Ricardo Teles to the field of clinical periodontal research.

Former Professor and Chair of Penn Dental Medicine’s Department of Periodontics, Dr. Teles, who passed away in December 2017, was highly respected for his research into the cause and treatment of periodontal disease.

Prior to coming to Penn Dental Medicine in August 2017, Dr. Teles was the OraPharma Distinguished Professor in the Department of Periodontology from 2014-2017 at the University of North Carolina School of Dentistry and Vice Chair of the Department from 2015-2017. He was also Senior Research Investigator in the Department of Applied Oral Sciences within the Center for Periodontology at The Forsyth Institute from 2014-2017 and Director of the Center from 2009-2010.

This new award – the IADR/IAP Ricardo Teles Clinical Research Award in Periodontology – was announced at the PRG meeting held as part of the recent IADR General Session, which took place in London July 25 – 28. The annual award will recognize a clinical research paper accepted for publication or published during the preceding year. One paper reporting the results of a clinical study will be selected in the categories of onset, progression, or treatment of periodontal diseases.

The main judging criteria will be relevance/importance of the clinical research for improving the knowledge about periodontal disease etiology, pathogenesis, and treatment, and the award will be presented during the annual business meeting of the PRG at the IADR General Session & Exhibition.

“It’s a beautiful tribute that will help perpetuate his legacy and continue to inspire clinical scientists in the field for years to come,” says Dr. Flavia Teles, Associate Professor, Department of Microbiology at Penn Dental Medicine. “I am thankful to the PRG and IAP, and to our long-time friend and collaborator Dr. Magda Feres, IAP and PRG President, who spearheaded the initiative.”

The first awards will be presented in 2019 with an application deadline of March 31, 2019. Complete submission criteria and guidelines can be found on the IADR web site.

News Release Archive

The Office of Communications is available to assist journalists in contacting our faculty experts to discuss the latest dental techniques and technologies. To schedule an interview or locate a faculty expert, please call 215-573-8224, or e-mail Beth Adams at

Penn Dental Medicine Journal

The Penn Dental Medicine Journal is published twice a year for the alumni and friends of Penn Dental Medicine, featuring stories on the School’s programs and activities and news on faculty, students, staff, and alumni.

Upcoming Events